National Parks of Taiwan

National Parks in TaiwanIn the order they were established, Taiwan’s eight national parks are: Kenting (or Kending as it’s sometimes written); Yushan (sometimes called Jade Mountain); Yangmingshan; Shei-Pa (alternatively spelled Xueba); Kinmen; Taroko; Dongsha (not yet open to the public); and Taijiang. All eight are charged with preserving the natural environment. Kinmen and Taijiang national parks have an additional secondary role of protecting sites of historical importance.

There are also several nature reserves, wildlife sanctuaries and protected areas, some of which are closed to non-researchers. Taiwan’s forest recreation areas, of which Alishan is the most famous, are excellent places to go hiking, see fauna and flora, or simply soak up unspoiled nature.